Karnataka cabinet reshuffle on 22 Dec decides Congress

Ending the suspense, the Congress-JD(S) coalition in Karnataka on Wednesday announced that the HD Kumaraswamy cabinet would be expanded on 22 December. Karnataka Cabinet Reshuffle The decision was taken by the coordination committee of the coalition that met under the chairmanship of former chief minister Siddaramaiah. Congress president Rahul Gandhi and JD(S) supremo HD Deve Gowda were consulted before deciding the date, Siddaramiah told reporters here after the over two-hour-long meeting of the committee.

Karnataka Cabinet Reshuffle

Karnataka Cabinet Reshuffle Six members from the Congress and two from JD(S) would be inducted, he said adding it was also decided to appoint MLAs as heads of corporations and boards on the same day. There has been growing clamour among the MLAs, especially those from the Congress, for expansion of the cabinet at the earliest.


with a few openly expressing their discontent over the delay. This will be the second expansion of Kumaraswamy’s ministry, who currently heads the 26-member cabinet. After the first expansion in June, discontent among the Congress ministerial aspirants surfaced, giving birth pangs to the coalition ministry formed in a post-poll pact after the May assembly elections threw up a hung verdict.

The Karnataka Cabinet Reshuffle was expected to be expanded in October itself but had been put off. Siddaramaiah said the plan was to expand the cabinet on 9 December, but as the legislature session commences on 10 December in the northern district of Belagavi, the date had been deferred. It would be expanded a day after the conclusion of the session on 21 December.

The former chief minister, who is also the leader of the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) said the coordination the committee also decided to appoint a few MLAs from both partner parties as Parliamentary Secretaries to Ministers. Under the agreement reached during the formation of the coalition in May last, the chairmanship of 20 boards and corporations will go to Congress and 10 to JD(S).

Also Click Here

UPDATED DATE : Dec 6, 2018 12:00 PM

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *